My Mission Call

I passed my missionary application on the second week of March, hoping that I would be able to receive my call a month after. We usually wait for two weeks (here in the Philippines) before getting an assignment, and another 2-3 weeks before receiving the actual call. I was so excited when I passed my papers; I just can’t wait to know where the Lord would want me to serve! Every Sunday the members would ask me if I already have my mission call, and if where I wanted to be assigned. Of course, my answer is “I’ll go where He wants me to go”, but I always thought I’d be assigned somewhere in the Philippines.

After a month (it felt like a year to me) of waiting, I was told by my dad that my mission call’s finally here! (After passing my application, I’d always go to lds.org and check the missionary portal to see if I’ve been given a call! I did that EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.) I’ve already been told that I would be serving here in PH, so I made a few guesses of where my mission is. My mum jokingly told me she wanted me to be assigned in Philippines Manila Mission (we live near Manila) so she’d be able to visit me and send me packages everyday!

So, on the 28th of April, 2015, after getting home from my university, mum said that my dad’s bringing the letter when he gets home later in the evening. I felt something different, like I wanted to cry/get emotional. I feel like I was destined to serve my fellow Filipinos, but I opened my heart in case I was assigned to a different area.

At 9 PM I was already getting ready to sleep because dad still hasn’t returned yet (I think he played basketball that night haha). After an hour, my brother woke me up and started jumping and yelling! (Talk about a peaceful sleep!) He said, “Ate Ja, nandito na mission call mo!” (Ate Ja, your mission call’s here!). So being a buzzkill that I am, I told him to let me and mum sleep and I’d open my letter first thing in the morning. Of course, we know how this ended (I ended up reading my mission call anyway). I was kinda sad because my sister’s not with us as I read my call (she’s currently serving in Italy Milan Mission), but I know she definitely would be happy when I share my mission call with her!

(I had a hard time opening the letter) but I was astounded when I read it!

Dear Sister Albos,

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. You are assigned to labour in the Utah Salt Lake City Temple Square Mission, it is anticipated you will serve for a period of 18 months. 

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center Tuesday September 8, 2015. You will prepare to teach the gospel in the English language.
This is one of the most important letters in my entire life!
This is one of the most important letters in my entire life!
I could not believe my eyes! I’ve always wanted to go to Temple Square someday but I did not imagine that I would be serving as a full-time missionary there! I’m grateful for my Heavenly Father for giving me the opportunity to serve the people of Utah. I will definitely do my best in bringing souls back to Him. 🙂
Leave a Reply

